Thursday, August 5, 2010

IMWI Race Simulation Ride #1

IMWI race rehearsal #1 didn’t go exactly as I would have liked. Following my RR swim on Thursday (that also was a bit of a let-down) I headed to Madison early Friday morning for an 8am start on the IMWI bike course. Here’s the summary, then the detailed venting will follow:

The Bike Data
• Ride time: ~5:45:00
• NP: 201 (target was 210)
• IF: .687
• TSS: 278
• VI: 1.05

The Run Data
• Run time: 47:30 (6 miles) - hit paces right on

The Good
• Peak 60’ power was from miles 80-100
• Higher IF in 2nd half of ride
• Decent VI given the wet conditions and just not feeling “on”
• Hit run pacing well for the 6 mile out & back

The Not-So-Good
• Disappointed with ride time (thought I should be in the 5:30-5:40 range)
• Completely missed IF target (.72)
• Something kooky happened with my Powertap (it included my 10-15’ stop between loops to fill water bottles)
• Poor focus (lots going on this week in personal/professional life as well as feeling very fatigued that had my mind elsewhere)
• Discovered after the ride that my rear brake was rubbing badly
• Never felt comfortable (legs tired, aero position didn’t feel right, cold at times, hot at other times)
• Felt like I was on the edge of a bonk every 15’ – not sure if it was my nutrition or the fatigue
• Bad attitude all day

Detailed Gripe Report
As soon as I arrived in Verona (start of loop 1), I had to take a step back and ask myself, “Now, what I am doing?” It’s been a crazy week and I’ve had a lot on my mind (quit my job for a better one, son’s 2nd birthday led to household stress trying to plan a party and entertain out-of-town guests for the weekend, extended family issues, etc.) Also, looking back on last week, I was battling some serious fatigue – CTL was 140, TSB of -40. But I gathered myself best I could and headed out.

It was overcast and in the low 60s when I started. After the 60’ JRA stuff I hit the start of the first loop and it began to rain. The roads were very slick, which made the descents on the course pretty scary. Additionally, Witte Rd was all gravel (it’s only about 1 mile but with those descents I was white-knuckled the whole way). On the positive side, the road going into Cross Plains is freshly paved (wish they would do the same for the road out of Cross Plains and Stagecoach!).

I finished loop 1 and stopped back at the car to refill water bottles (approx 10-15’ break). I didn’t feel the best during loop 1 (legs were flat, body was very fatigued) but I knew I was executing my hydration/nutrition strategy correctly as I had to pee 3 times during the almost 3 hour timeframe.

I headed out for loop 2 with the intent to kick up the watts by 5 each hour. It wasn’t easy but the numbers I was seeing on my LYC were indicating I was executing per plan.

Started getting pretty burned out by mile 90 – need to find something to bring me out of that funk (caffeine?, 5-hr Energy?, No-Doz? – never tried any of them before). Peed 4 more times during the final 56 miles.

Below is the ride data. Notice the Powertap didn’t separate out my 10-15’ stop to refill water at the car. Almost like the PT thought the rear wheel was still spinning?! Not sure what the deal is with my HR at the beginning - thinking something went screwy with the monitor for a while.

Entire workout (191 watts):
Duration: 5:54:14 (5:54:41)
Work: 4068 kJ
TSS: 278.7 (intensity factor 0.687)
Norm Power: 201
VI: 1.05
Pw:HR: 0.85%
Pa:HR: 3.5%
Distance: 112.028 mi
Min Max Avg
Power: 0 394 191 watts
Heart Rate: 58 218 117 bpm
Cadence: 30 186 88 rpm
Speed: 2.2 44.2 19.0 mph
Pace 1:21 26:49 3:10 min/mi
Crank Torque: 0 832 188 lb-in

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Hour by Hour:
1 – 41.8 TSS / 0.646 IF / 189 NP / 1.04 VI / 113 HRavg / 657 kJ
2 – 47.9 TSS / 0.691 IF / 203 NP / 1.04 VI / 117 HRavg / 700 kJ
3 – 49.1 TSS / 0.700 IF / 205 NP / 1.04 VI / 118 HRavg / 711 kJ
4 – 47.8 TSS / 0.691 IF / 202 NP / 1.06 VI / 116 HRavg / 691 kJ
5 – 50.2 TSS / 0.708 IF / 207 NP / 1.06 VI / 119 HRavg / 706 kJ
6 – 42.6 TSS / 0.683 IF / 200 NP / 1.07 VI / 118 HRavg / 616 kJ

Reminder: 210 watts was my target. My focus obviously fades after hour 3 as evidenced by higher VI; but that was also when it really started raining hard. I'm amazed at how low my HR is this year - last IM (2008 IMLou) my HR for RRs and the race was more like around 130 bpm.

I threw the bike in the car, got the run gear on and headed out for a 6 mile out and back, eager to get this thing done. First mile or so was a little rough – legs were tight, form felt like crap. Loosened up after the 1st mile and had no problem holding the 8:15/mi pace through mile 3. Made the turn and picked up the pace to my Z1/LRP (7:45/mi). Held it with no problem back to the car.

I was pretty spent. My quasi-race sim on the first day of the IMWI tri rally in early July didn’t leave me feeling nearly as cooked. And that was a hot, sunny day, too. I felt like that was the easiest day of training I’d had all year. This actual race sim left me feeling more like I do after the typical 4.5 hour EN-style long ride.

I decided to wipe the bike down before leaving. Gave the wheels a gentle spin to clean them off with a rag and to my shock saw that the back wheel hit a spot where it completely locked up. It appears I rode the entire time with the brake pad making pretty significant contact with the rim – IDIOT! No wonder my legs still feel cooked.

I made the drive back home pissed at the world. I carried that pissy attitude with me all weekend. I was ready to call this whole thing off because how could I even consider myself a potential Kona-qualifier with a performance like this!? I feel a little better as I took Saturday completely off and slept in both Saturday and Sunday. Additionally, Matt Ancona allowed me to vent for almost an hour during our ride on Sunday which allowed me to get a lot off my chest.

Thanks for letting me release some steam to you all. I’m now 100% focused on making RR #2 and, more importantly, the race as perfect as can be. Here’s my plan for RR #2:

 No distractions! 100% focus on executing the plan
 Sleep as much as possible during the week preceding the RR/race
 Get the bike tuned up and ensure everything is comfortable
 Positive attitude
 A little tweak to my pre-RR nutrition (throw in some solid foods instead of all liquid)

No comments:

Post a Comment